Election wrap - Seven new faces to lead Marion

Read about Marion's new mayor and counillors.

 City Limits Magazine Issue 47 December 2014 front coverThis article appears in City Limits magazine - Issue 47 - December 2014.

City Limits here

A mayor and seven councillors are the new faces on Marion Council after the local government elections last month.

More than 14,750 voters delivered their verdict over who should lead the city for the next four years.

Kris Hanna, a lawyer and former State MP, was elected mayor unopposed, replacing Felicity-ann Lewis who stepped down after 14 years in the top job.

“The people of Marion have chosen a great group of councillors,” Mr Hanna said.

“I’m looking forward to working with them. Together we can do some great things for the city.”

Voters re-elected five councillors to serve on Marion Council, which consists of a mayor and 12 Elected Members.

Frank Verrall, who has represented Southern Hills Ward since 2006, was the only member to be defeated.

City Limits Magazine - Dec 14 - Issue 47 - Council“I’ve enjoyed the opportunities far more than the challenges. I’ve stuck to my vision for the future and I congratulate those who’ve won positions,” he said.

The new council met formally for the first time on November 25 after having been sworn in a week earlier.

The biggest changes were in Coastal and Southern Hills wards with the election of two new teams to represent the community.

Police officer Ian Crossland and small business owner Tim Gard are the new community leaders in Coastal Ward, in Marion’s southern suburbs.

Neighbouring Southern Hills Ward has a new team of Janet Byram, a small business owner, and Nick Westwood, a web designer.

 Mullawirra, in the city’s north west, was the only ward to remain unchanged with Crs Jerome Appleby and Jason Veliskou returned for another term.

In Warriparinga, a central ward, sitting councillor Luke Hutchinson has been joined by Raelene Telfer, who has previously served on council.

Self-employed businessman Nick Kerry will join sitting councillor Tim Pfeiffer in the north-east ward of Woodlands.

City Limits Magazine - Dec 14 - Issue 47 - Council new membersLong-serving councillor Bruce Hull has been re-elected in central Warracowie Ward. He will be joined by research physicist Nathan Prior.

Marion Council chief executive officer Mark Searle said this was the leadership team that will steer the city for the next four years.

“I want to welcome the new and returning Elected Members, particularly the new mayor, and thank Cr Verrall for his service to the community,” Mr Searle said.

“This election was keenly contested with 31 candidates, representing a wide range of ages and backgrounds, putting up their hands to serve the community.

“This team will build on the successes of the past while carving out a new future for the city.”

A total of 14,755 people cast their vote, compared with 15,250 in the previous election in 2010.

Unlike state and federal polls, voting in council elections is voluntary and is conducted by postal ballot.

Five councillors with a combined 47 years’ experience retired at the election in addition to Dr Lewis.

They included Cr Carol Bouwens, Cr Cheryl Connor, Cr Carolyn Habib, Cr Kathleen Allen and Cr Alice Campbell.

Voting in the six-week election ended on November 7 with ballots counted the following day.

City Limits Magazine

The City Limits Magazine is a community publication that keeps Marion residents in touch with what is happening in their community. It includes information about major projects, council initiatives and events, as well as profiles of community members.

It is published three times a year and distributed to 40,000 residents and businesses in the Marion Council area.