Skip to main content
08 8375 6600 request support contact
log in

Provisional results for Mayoral election

Sunday 13 Nov 2022
Please note the content of this news item is over six months old and may no longer be current.
ECSA voting image cropped

The City of Marion can announce provisional results for the position of Mayor in the 2022 Local Government Elections.

Based on the votes counted on Saturday, Kris Hanna has been re-elected Mayor with 11,988 first preference votes ahead of candidates Bruce Hull with 4,536 votes and Jaison Midzi with 2,695 votes.

These results are provisional. If no requests for re-counts are lodged with the Electoral Commission of South Australia (ECSA) within 72 hours of the conclusion of the count, the results are officially declared by the Returning Officer.

Mayor Hanna said: "Heartfelt thanks to all supporters; I'm here for everyone who supports affordable rates, transparent and respectful decision-making, and an environmentally sensitive Council.”

Vote counting continues for the six Ward Elections.

Last week the City of Marion was advised that the ECSA was investigating irregularities with returned ballot packs within its council boundaries.

Yesterday ECSA advised that 494 ballots had been referred for additional scrutiny across six wards with 130 votes subsequently accepted and 364 rejected.

The City of Marion is scheduled to hold a swearing-in ceremony for new Council Members on Friday.

For media enquiries, please contact the media team on: