How we are responding to COVID-19
Find out more
Skip to main content
8375 6600 contact
log in


By-laws are local laws established by Councils to deal with issues specific to the relevant Council area.

The City of Marion currently has six by-laws, which apply only within the City of Marion's boundaries.

New by-laws were approved by Council and came into place as of 1 January 2015.

By-law Review 2021

Council recently reviewed its by-laws, which expire on 1 January 2022.

Following a consultation with the community, Council adopted the following by-laws at its meeting 10 August 2021:

The by-laws will commence operation in accordance with section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1999, four months after the day on which they are published in the Government Gazette.

Copies of the by-laws are available to view above or during ordinary office hours at the Council’s principal office located at 245 Sturt Road, Sturt SA.

Shopping Trolley By-law

State Parliament voted to disallow Council’s Shopping Trolley Amenity By-Law on February 17, 2021.

Council had worked hard to introduce the by-law to reduce the hazards and unsightliness caused by abandoned shopping trolleys.

The Shopping Trolley Amenity By-Law came into effect on 2 November, 2020 – enforcement was scheduled to start on February 1, 2021. However, this was discontinued following the decision of parliament.

Your guide to the by-laws

Download the frequently asked questions form below to answer some common questions about the by-laws.